take care cher

A single woman's journey as a caregiver to an elderly parent, 5 dogs, a house….and most importantly myself

My Dogs Are Bankrupting Me! Woof!!!

on September 9, 2013
"Money Pit #1", Bruiser

“Money Pit #1”, Bruiser

"Money Pit #2", Princess

“Money Pit #2”, Princess

Hi There Animal Lovers!

This past weekend I had to take 2 of my 5 dogs to get their shots and heartworm/flea meds, to the tune of $377!!  Now, I’m sure many that may read this are saying “Holy Cow, are you nuts…why do you have so many dogs?” Well, the bottom line is, I went to adopt a rescued cocker spaniel 2 years ago and found out that he and his brother came as a matched set, so, I got two for the price of one!!  Honestly, I have a cocker spaniel addiction….it’s the curly ears….or the cow eyes and their sweet dispositions….or, I dunno, I just cannot help myself!!!  At the same time, I had put my name on an older dog at the dog pound that looked alot like my cocker spaniel that died of cancer.  When they called and told me he had heartworms and might not survive being neutered (I hate that term!!), I knew if I didn’t take him they would euthanize him, so…..here I am with five dogs!!  I already had two.

But you know what?  I wouldn’t trade my babies for anything!  They keep my elderly mother company and when I come home, I am met at the door by sloppy kisses and unconditional love that is so sweet, and I am convinced they are the reason my blood pressure is normal!!  With all the caregiving I do in my life, my nurse practitioner says my blood pressure should be out the roof!! How many of you out there feel the same way about your pets? How many think I’m nuts?  Go ahead, you won’t hurt my feelings!!!  i would love to hear from you.

BTW, there is an organization called Vet Wellcare that has shot clinics in Pet Supermarkets and other stores across the nation, and they are a LOT cheaper than going to the vet.  Just my two dogs shots were around $150, but last time I went to the vet and paid for an office visit, and other assorted things that got tacked on, it was over $300!!!  So for half of what you would pay the vet, Vet Wellcare will set you up.  The only downside to it is, you have to wait in line for you and your doggies turn.  Kitties are welcome too!  I live in the Tampa Bay area, and another awesome organization that is even less expensive but not convenient for where I live, is called The Animal Coalition of Tampa or ACT.  This phenomenal organization was founded and is run by Frank and Linda Hamilton and I cannot say enough about their huge hearts and commitment to making animals lives better.  Kudos to them!!  I met Frank at USF when I was pursing my MBA and him his doctorate, and I knew immediately we were kindred spirits.  He and Linda are angels!!

Leave a Reply

